The Conservation Commission presently consists of five voting members, a Tree Warden, and eight associate members who assemble on Wednesdays every six weeks or as scheduled at the Town Office.

Current responsibilities include:  

Educating the community regarding conservation ballot items, recycling, and habitat conservation.

Consulting with the Planning Board concerning buffering and Land Use issues.

Stewardship of the Charlotte Rhoades Park & Butterfly Garden

Working with the community on the Monarch Tagging Program

The Harbor Committee is composed of seven to twelve members appointed by the Board of Selectmen for  3-year terms. The Harbor Committee deals with issues relating to the management of the Harbor, including review of applications regarding Harbor related projects, work on the Harbor Mooring Plan, recommendations to the Board of Selectmen and Planning Board on Harbor related activities, review of the condition and suitability of the town's three docks, development of requests for repair and changes to those docks, recommendations for mooring fees, and review of applications for leasing of town dock space. Any interested townsperson is encouraged to attend Harbor Committee meetings which are held on the 2nd Monday of the month at 6:30 pm at the Town Office.  If you have any questions, please call the Town Office at 244-5404.

Our Harbor is an integral part of the town's economy and character.  According to the Coastal Waters and Harbor Ordinance, "our Harbor Committee shall "advise in the custody, care, and management of the Harbor and its facilities, and the Coastal Waters, not inconsistent with the duties of the Harbor Master as set forth in the Ordinance or by the Maine Revised Statutes." In administering the Ordinance and making recommendations based on the Ordinance, the Harbor Master and Harbor Committee are there to help protect water dependent activity and public access to the water. This, in turn, ensures that the Harbor remains a working harbor.
Adam Thurston
Harbor Committee 
Committee Members
Corey Pettegrow - 2020

Joel Harper - 2018

Anne Napier - 2017

Nicholas Maderia - 2019

Brian Walls - 2018

Andy Mays - 2017

Latitude  44.279825   Longitude  -68.324991
Susan Reiff Allen

Natalia Pajor

The Commission is looking for new members or associates who would be willing to help with any of our current responsibilities.  No experience required, just an interest in preserving our Town's natural resources. 
 Please call the Town Office at 244-5404 if you are interested!
Click on the link below for a unique approach to conserving Maine's natural landscape for plants, animals and people, and local strategies for conservation:

Conservation Committee
Jane Ayres Peabody
Eleanor Park
Francine Mayhew

Jeff Dutra - Tree Warden
Ann Judd - Beautification-Rhoades Park, Chairman

Ellen Scull
Shellfish Committee
Jim Colquhoun, Chair

Bill Carroll

Glenn Greenlaw
2016   Andy Mays, Warden

Adam Thurston, Warden

Shellfish licenses are required for all persons who take soft-shell clams from open areas of the Town of Southwest Harbor.  An unlimited number of recreational licenses will be issued for calendar year and will be available for purchase in the Town Office during normal working hours on and after December 3, 2010.  Persons holding commercial clamming licenses issued by the State of Maine are not eligible to purchase recreational licenses in the Town of Southwest Harbor.  Licenses are free for minors 15 years old and younger.  Residents and real estate taxpayers of the Town 16 years old and older may purchase a non-resident license for $40.
The Warrant Committee is composed of 7-12 members appointed by the Board of Selectmen for 3-year terms.  The purpose of the Warrant Committee is to review and make recommendations about municipal and school budget requests and supplemental appropriations and expenditures.  

The authority of the Warrant Committee is advisory and its recommendations to the Board of Selectmen are published in the Town Warrant and presented at the Annual Town Meeting each May.
All Warrant Committee meetings are public meetings.  The public is welcome and encouraged to attend this process. The Committee, however, has no legal obligation to take public comment at their meetings.        
Meeting Information
The Town of Southwest Harbor is currently seeking new members to join the Warrant Committee. If interested in serving, please contact the Town Office at 244-7900 for a Volunteer Application or email:
Warrant Committee

Kristin Hutchins
Solid Waste Prevention Committee
Southwest Harbor Thrift Shop

What we do:  We rescue things that would have ended up in the waste stream and sell them at very low prices - 
a win for the environment and a win for our community!  Proceeds will be used for future waste prevention and reduction programs.

How you can help:  Clean out your closets, attics, and garages and bring in items that are in good working condition.  You will be supporting a good cause and helping others.  Can you volunteer a few hours of your time?  It is fun and we could use your help!  Call 801-1924.

Hours:  The shop will be open from May through October on Mondays and Saturdays, 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Items you CAN donate Furniture, baby goods and toys, hand and power tools, building materials, bicycles, kitchen and household items, insulated windows and doors, books, CD's, DVD's, small appliances and electronics (in good working order), flat-screen televisions, newer laptops and more...
**Please note:  items may only be dropped off during normal Thrift Shop hours or by appointment.  Acceptance of items is also subject to availability of space in the Thrift Shop.

Items we will NOT accept:   Mattresses and box springs, non-insulated doors, single-pane windows, rugs too large to roll and stand up, clothing or fabric items, televisions, VCRs, hard drives, monitors, keyboards or accessories, hazardous household waste
Ben C. Worcester, III

Committee Members
Acadia Disposal District
Tony Smith, Chairman
P.O. Box 248
Northeast Harbor, ME

Phone: 207-276-5743
SWH Transfer Station
EMR, Inc.
Mondays - Fridays  8:00am - 5:00pm 
Saturdays  8:00am - 3:00 pm

Closed Sundays and Holidays